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Chapter 16: SCHOOL-AGE CARE 
 

Purpose Of These Requirements 
Operators offering school-age care are required to meet all applicable child care requirements except 
as identified in Section .2500 – Care for School-Age Children.  This chapter outlines the child care 
requirements that are specific to programs offering care to three or more school-aged children 
exclusively or as a component of any other program.  This includes full-time, part-time, or seasonal 
child care programs for school-age children.  The North Carolina General Statutes for child care 
facilities exempts all programs operated by public schools from being licensed.  However, if a 
school wishes to be eligible for the North Carolina Subsidized Child Care Program or voluntarily 
chooses to be licensed, the program will need to be licensed.  Whenever possible, the Division 
reviewed the public school’s requirements and determined which of these are the same as or 
equivalent to the child care law and rules.  The majority of the child care requirements discussed in 
other chapters of this handbook apply to licensed public school programs.  Along with identifying 
requirements specific to school-age programs, this chapter outlines requirements for programs 
operated by public schools.   
 
There continues to be an increasing need for school-age care.  Many school-age children ages 5 
through 12 years spend their out-of-school time (OST) in some type of school-age care program.  
The importance of OST programming is growing due to the current issues and needs of school-age 
children.  School-age care providers are with the children potentially 10-15 hours a week during the 
school year and 40 hours per week in the summer, and many school-age care providers are being 
asked to take on additional responsibilities to promote the development of school-age children. 
There is an increasing demand for OST programs to provide more physical activity/health education 
to decrease and prevent obesity; provide more engaging, hands-on activities to help students meet 
North Carolina Learning Standards; and give children more opportunities for free play and choice.  
This chapter not only gives you the child care requirements that are specific for school-age care 
programs, but also provides recommendations of best practices to help school-age care providers try 
to achieve a balance.   
 
 

Definitions 
 
School-aged child: any child who is attending or who has attended a public or private grade school 
or kindergarten and meets the age requirements as specified in General Statute 115C-364.   
 
Out-of-school time (OST): a program that provides care to school-age children before and/or after 
school hours, in the summer or tracked-out times, on teacher workdays and on school holidays.   
 
Track-out program:  a program that provides care to school-age children when they are out of 
school on the multi-track, year-round school calendar. 
 
Seasonal recreational program:  a program that operates for less than four consecutive months per 
year between May 15 and September 15.  This type of program is considered a summer day camp.   
 
Program coordinator:  an individual who is responsible for planning and ensuring implementation 
of daily activities for a school-age program. 
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Group leader:  an individual who is responsible for supervising groups of school-aged children. 
 
Assistant group leader:  an individual who assist group leaders.  
 
“Experience working with school-aged children” means:  experience working with school-aged 
children as an administrator, program coordinator, group leader, assistant group leader, lead teacher, 
teacher, or aide.   
 
NC Subsidized Child Care Program:  North Carolina operates a statewide child care assistance 
program for low-income and other eligible families. This program helps families afford child care by 
sharing the cost of care. Most parents must pay a fee, depending on the size of their family and their 
income. 
 
Basic School-Age Care Training (BSAC Training):  specialized training on the elements of 
quality afterschool care for school-age children developed for and approved by the Division.  
Equivalent training may be approved if the Division determines that the content of the training 
offered is substantially equivalent to the BSAC training.   
 

Types of School-Age Programs 
Stand Alone: a program that only provides care to school-age children. 
 
Component of a Preschool Program: a program that provides care to school-age children and also 
operates a preschool program. 
 
 

Almost all of the rules discussed in other chapters of this handbook apply to school-age care programs also.  
Each section will begin by identifying a previous chapter that applies to school-age care programs and then 
a discussion on specific rules that either do not apply or have different requirements for school-age care 
programs. 

 
SECTION 1: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR LICENSURE 

 
CHILD CARE RULE .2502 

School-Age Care Only 

 A center providing care for school-aged children exclusively will be issued a license 
restricting care to school-aged children only.    

 
 

 This restriction will be noted on the license.   

 A track-out program that operates all four tracks for more than 
four hours per day must be licensed.   
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CHILD CARE RULE .2502 
Seasonal Recreational Program 

 A seasonal recreational program that operates for less than four consecutive months per 
year, typically between May 15 and September 15, is considered a summer day camp.  The 
law does not require summer day camp programs to be licensed.    

 Any summer day camp program wanting to receive payment for children receiving child 
care subsidies must be licensed by the Division.   

 
 

 A licensed summer day camp program can only enroll school-
age children.  Children who will begin kindergarten in the fall 
are not considered school age and therefore cannot attend a 
licensed summer day camp.  If they do attend, all preschool 
requirements apply and a Temporary or Star Rated License 
would be issued. 

 If the operator of a summer day camp program chooses to be 
licensed, then the facility will be licensed as a summer day camp 
for the period of time they are in operation.  

 School-age programs that choose not to be licensed should check 
with local planning and zoning ordinances to see if there are 
requirements that must be met locally.  If there are local planning 
and zoning requirements, they must be met even if the program 
is not licensed by the Division. 

 The NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources (NC 
DENR) has requirements for summer day camp programs that 
must be met regardless of whether or not they are licensed by the 
Division as a summer day camp. 

 Programs that are operated after school, for four hours or less, 
and then as a full time summer day camp may choose to be 
licensed, but are not required to be licensed. 

 If interested in operating a summer day camp, contact the 
Division at 1-800-859-0829 to request a Basic Information for 
Potential Summer Day Camp Providers packet, which contains 
instructions for ordering the summer day camp application 
packet.   

 Contact your local department of social services to inquire about 
enrolling in the subsidized child care program.  County contact 
information is available on the NC Department of Social 
Services web site at www.dhhs.state.nc.us/dss/local/ or on the 
Division’s web site at www.ncchildcare.net.   

 Visit NC DENR Children’s Environmental Health Branch at 
www.deh.enr.state.nc.us/ for more information and resources on 
children’s health.   
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SECTION 2: STAFF REQUIREMENTS 
Refer to Chapter 2 – Staff for a full description of the staff requirements that will have to be met to 
operate a school-age care program.  The requirements in Section .2510 only cover requirements that 
are different from those identified in Chapter 2.   
 

 The North Carolina Center for Afterschool Programs (NCCAP), in partnership with other state 
and local organizations, offers the state’s first centralized online statewide database on 
afterschool trainings and professional development opportunities.  School age care providers and 
directors can access the database to identify area trainings and plan staff professional 
development.  Visit www.ncafterschooltraining.com to view the Professional Development 
Training Database.   

 
CHILD CARE RULE .2510 

Preservice Requirements for Administrators 

 The individual responsible for ensuring the administration of the program, whether on-site 
or off-site must: 

 Prior to employment, have at least: 
 400 hours of verifiable experience working with school-aged children in a licensed 

child care program; or  
 600 hours of verifiable experience working with school-aged children in an unlicensed 

school-age or camp setting, or   
 have an undergraduate, graduate, or associate degree, with at least 12 semester  hours in 

school-age care related coursework; and 
 Meet the requirements for a child care administrator in G.S. 110-91(8). 

 
 

  The administrator must be at least 21 years of age.   

 Administrators must begin working toward the completion of the 
North Carolina Early Childhood Administrator Credential 
(NCECAC) or its equivalent within 6 months of assuming 
administrator duties and must complete the credential or its 
equivalent within 2 years after beginning work to complete the 
credential.   

 The administrator may work on-site or off-site. 

 The individual who is on-site and responsible for the 
administration of the school-age component of a center which 
also provides care to preschool-age children must meet the 
requirements for child care administrators in General Statute 
110-91(8) and Section .0700.  These requirements are located in 
appendices A and B as well as Chapter 2 – Staff. 

 The administrator will need to complete and submit an education 
and equivalency (E&E) form within six weeks to the Child Care 
Workforce Standards Section at the Division.  

 Copies of E&E forms can be found on the Division’s web site at 
www.ncchildcare.net under Providers / Provider Documents and 
in the resource section of Chapter 2.  



Division of Child Development  Child Care Center Handbook 

School-Age Care  page 16.5 

 Programs wishing to be eligible for the most points available in 
Education Standards for the issuance of a Rated License, will 
need staff with more education and experience then the minimum 
licensing requirements.  Refer to Chapter 17 – Star Rated 
License for more information.    

HH -Research identifies quality staff and strong staff development as 
important characteristics of quality school-age care programs.  
Hire staff that are motivated to provide interesting activities and 
able to interact in positive ways with children.   

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2510 
Preservice Requirements for Program Coordinators 

 At least one individual who is responsible for planning and ensuring the implementation of 
daily activities for a school-age program, known as the program coordinator, must: 
 Be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or its equivalent prior to 

employment;  
 Have completed two semester credit hours in child and youth development and two 

semester credit hours in school-age programming.  Each individual who does not meet 
this requirement must enroll in coursework within six months after becoming employed 
and complete this coursework within 18 months of enrollment. An individual who 
meets the staff requirements for administrator or lead teacher may be considered as 
meeting the requirements for program coordinator, provided the individual completes 
Basic School-Age Care (BSAC) training; and 

 In a part day program be on site when children are in care.  For a full day program be 
on site for two thirds of the hours of operation.  This includes times when the individual 
is off site due to illness or vacation.   

 
 

 An individual may serve as both an administrator and a program 
coordinator.  The person would be responsible for meeting the 
staff requirements for an administrator, complete BSAC training, 
and work on-site. 

 The program coordinator will need to complete and submit an 
E&E form within six weeks to the Child Care Workforce 
Standards Section at the Division.   

 Copies of E&E forms can be found on the Division’s web site at 
www.ncchildcare.net under Providers / Provider Documents and 
in the resource section of Chapter 2.  

 BSAC is a specialized training on the elements of quality 
afterschool care for school-age children developed for and 
approved by the Division.  Equivalent training may be approved 
if the Division determines that the content of the training offered 
is substantially equivalent to the BSAC training.   

 Completion of the BSAC training counts toward meeting one 
year’s annual on-going training requirements. 
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 Individuals who completed 7 hours of school-age program 
training as approved by the Division prior to July 1, 2000 are not 
required to complete the BSAC training.   

 Staff in part-time or full day school-age care programs required 
to complete BSAC training must do so within three months of 
becoming employed.  Staff in seasonal school-age care programs 
required to complete BSAC training must do so within six weeks 
of becoming employed.   

 If the program coordinator has responsibility for planning and 
implementing the daily activities of the program and 
administrating the program, the person must also meet the staff 
requirements for an administrator.   

 Programs wishing to be eligible for the most points available in 
Education Standards for the issuance of a Rated License, will 
need staff with more education and experience then the minimum 
licensing requirements.  Refer to Chapter 17 – Star Rated 
License for more information. 

 Go to www.ncafterschooltraining.com to get information on 
upcoming BSAC trainings in your area or contact your local 
Child Care Resource and Referral Lead Agency.  A Child Care 
Resource and Referral Lead Agency Directory is located in 
the resource section and on the Division’s web site.     

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2510 
Preservice Requirements for Group Leaders and Assistant Group Leaders 

 Staff who are responsible for supervising groups of school-aged children, known as group 
leaders, must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or its equivalent prior 
to employment. 

 Once hired, the group leader must complete BSAC training.   

 Staff who assist group leaders, known as assistant group leaders, must be at least 16 years of 
age and complete BSAC training. 

 
 

 A group leader or assistant group leader is required when the 
administrator or program coordinator is not working directly 
with the school-age children or when required to meet the staff-
child ratios. 

 Group leaders and assistant group leaders in part time or full time 
programs must complete BSAC training with the first 3 months 
of employment. 

 Group leaders and assistant group leaders in seasonal or summer 
day camp programs must complete BSAC training with the first 
6 weeks of employment. 
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 All staff under the age of 18 years of age counted in the staff-
child ratios must work under the direct supervision of a staff 
person who is at least 21 years of age. 

 Group leaders and assistant group leaders will need to complete 
and submit an E&E form within six weeks to the Child Care 
Workforce Standards Section at the Division.          

 Copies of E&E forms can be found on the Division’s web site at 
www.ncchildcare.net under Providers / Provider Documents and 
in the resource section of Chapter 2.  

 Programs wishing to be eligible for the most points available in 
Education Standards for the issuance of a Rated License, will 
need staff with more education and experience then the minimum 
licensing requirements.  Refer to Chapter 17 – Star Rated 
License for more information. 

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2510 
Orientation of School-Age Staff 

 All staff must receive on-site training and orientation as follows: 
 Within the first 2 weeks of assuming responsibility for supervising a group of children, 

each employee must complete at least 6 clock hours of training on: 
 the recognition of the signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect and in the 

employee’s duty to report suspected abuse and neglect; 
 the center’s operational policies; 
 adequate supervision of children, taking into account their age, emotional, 

physical, and cognitive development. 

 Within the first 6 weeks of assuming responsibility for supervising a group of 
children, each employee must complete at least 3 additional clocks hours of training 
on maintaining a safe and healthy environment and developmentally appropriate 
activities for school-age children.   

 
 

 The on-site training and orientation must be documented and 
maintained in each staff member’s personnel file.   

 A Documentation of Staff Orientation for School-Age Care 
Only Programs form is located in the resource section.   

 
 

SECTION 3: OUTDOOR LEARNING ENVIRONMENT  
Refer to Chapter 3 – Outdoor Learning Environment for a full description of outdoor requirements that 
will have to be met to operate a school-age care program.  The requirements in Section .2506 only 
cover requirements that are different from those identified in Chapter 3.   
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HH - It is very important to take children outside even if the program 
only has children for a short period of time such as 3:00 p.m. to 
6:00 p.m.  Upon arrival give children the opportunity to have 
unstructured outdoor time since most likely they have only had 
thirty minutes of outdoor play while they were attending school.  
Snack could be taken outside.   

HH - School-age caregivers play an important role in helping children 
achieve recommended amounts of physical activity.  The 2008 
Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans by the US 
Department of Health and Human Services recommends children 
ages 6-12, should achieve 60 minutes or more of physical 
activity a day.  Physical activities can be easily achieved 
outdoors.  Even short periods of physical activity can count 
towards the recommended 60 minutes or more goal.   

HH –During winter months, take children outside first, and then 
conduct enrichment activities and free choice inside since it gets 
dark earlier in the winter months.  By the time most children get 
home they do not have time to go outside since it is already dark 
outside.   

 

NC GENERAL STATUTE 110-91(6) 
DPI Operated Programs - Fenced in Play Areas 

 A center operated in a public school is deemed to have adequate protection. 
 

 

 Child care programs operating in a public school are deemed to 
have adequate outdoor protection and, therefore, are not required 
to have fencing or any other protection, regardless of who 
operates the program.   

 The law exempts playground equipment on public school grounds 
used by school-age children from having to meet the child care 
rules related to the outdoor are, including the playground safety 
training and completing monthly playground inspection.  The 
exemption does not include having to remove or fix broken 
equipment that will be used by children.   

 Refer to Chapter 3 – Outdoor Learning Environment for 
playground safety rules and resources on the benefits of outdoor 
play.   

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2506 
General Safety Requirements 

 School-age children must wear safety helmets whenever they ride bicycles. 
 

 

 Safety helmets can be provided by the center or brought from 
home by the parents.  Safety helmets provided by the center must 
be properly sanitized after use.   
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 The center is responsible for making sure helmets are available 
and ensuring the children wear them. 

 
 

SECTION 4: AQUATIC ACTIVITIES 
Refer to Chapter 4 – Aquatic Activities for a full description of the aquatic activities requirements that 
will have to be met to operate a school-age care program.  The requirements in Section .2506 only 
cover requirements that are different from those identified in Chapter 4.   
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2506 
General Safety Requirements 

 Children must wear life jackets whenever they participate in boating, rafting or canoeing 
activities.  

 
 

 Aquatic activities are any activities that take place in, on, or 
around a body of water such as swimming, swimming 
instruction, wading, visits to water parks, and boating.  All 
aquatic activities must be conducted in a safe manner as outlined 
in Chapter 4 - Aquatic Activities. These requirements include:  

 Adequate supervision  
 Appropriate staff-child ratios 
 Life guard availability and certification 
 Policies  
 Location of swimming pools  
 Safety rules  
 Swimming pool construction 

 Adequate supervision means that half the center staff needed to 
meet the staff-child ratios for aquatic activities is in the water and 
the other half is out of the water.  If an uneven number of staff 
are needed to meet the staff-child ratios, the majority of the staff 
must be in the water.   

 Staff must be positioned in pre-assigned areas that will 
enable them at all times to hear, see, and respond quickly to 
the children who are in the water and the children who are 
out of the water.     

 Children must not enter the water before center staff are 
stationed in their pre-assigned areas.   

 Center staff must devote their full attention to supervising 
the children in their pre-assigned areas of coverage and 
must communicate with one another about children moving 
from one area to another.   
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 The following staff-child ratios must be maintained whenever 
children participate in aquatic activities: 

   Age of Children Ratio Staff/Children 
   3 to 4 Years   1/8 
   4 to 5 Years   1/10 
   5 Years and Older  1/13 

HH –Check with your local parks and recreation center or the 
American Red Cross for information on life guard certification 
and availability.   

 
SECTION 5: INDOOR LEARNING ENVIRONMENT 

Refer to Chapter 5 – Indoor Learning Environment for a full description of the indoor requirements 
that will have to be met to operate a school-age care program.  The requirements in Section .2504 and 
.2506 only cover requirements that are different from those identified in Chapter 5.   

 

CHILD CARE RULE .2504 
Space Requirements 

 All space requirements specified in Section .1400 apply when a facility provides care for 
school-age children and any preschool child is also in care, or when a program which 
provides care exclusively for school-age children routinely operates indoor in a permanent 
structure for more than 25 percent of each day.   

 A gymnasium or other single use room may be included in the space measured for licensed 
capacity when used as primary space.   

 
 

  Refer to Appendix B – Child Care Rules - Section .1400 and 
Chapter 5 - Indoor Learning Environment for indoor and outdoor 
space requirements. 

 A gymnasium or other single use room may be included in the 
space measured for licensed capacity when used as primary 
space. 

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2504 
Summer Camp Programs 

 A facility licensed as a summer day camp must have a permanent structure located at the 
home base, which is the primary site of the day camp activities.  The permanent structure may 
be a building or permanent roofed shelter with overhang.   

 The summer day camp must meet one of the following space requirements: 
1. When activities for children are routinely conducted outdoors or off the premises for at 

least 75 percent of each day, a minimum of ten square feet per child of indoor space, 
exclusive of kitchens, hallways, restrooms, closets, and storage areas, shall be provided. 

2. When the camp's home base does not provide ten square feet of primary space indoors, 
the camp shall provide notarized copies of all letters, agreements, or contracts with other 
facilities which guarantee that children will be accommodated comfortably indoors in the 
event of inclement weather. 
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 Summer day camps can only operate between May 15 thru 
September 15 or a summer camp license is only being issued for 
a maximum of four months between May 15 thru September 15. 

 When the center is licensed as a summer day camp, enrolling 
only school-age children, AND these children are away from the 
facility or outdoors at least 75% of each day, the space 
requirements are:  

1.That there be an approved permanent structure big enough 
to offer at least 10 square feet of space per child 
or 

2.That the operator has on file a notarized letter, a written 
agreement, or a contract with other facilities that verifies 
that indoor space is available for use by the children during 
bad weather 

 Examples of programs that may fit in the category of operating 
off site at least 75% of the time are summer recreational 
programs operated by the YMCA, the YWCA, Department of 
Parks and Recreation, etc.  

 These programs usually meet at a given location and then take 
the children on outings away from the site.  

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2506 
Potentially Hazardous Materials 

 Potentially hazardous items, such as archery equipment, firearms and ammunition, hand and 
power tools, propane stoves, or chemicals must be used by children only when adult 
supervision is provided.   

 Such potentially hazardous items, whether or not intended for use by the children, shall be 
stored in locked areas or with other appropriate safeguards, or shall be removed from the 
premises. 

 
 

 Commonly used materials that would need adult supervision 
include woodworking/carpentry tools as well as science 
experiments that may cause a chemical reaction such as a 
volcano using baking soda and vinegar.  Supervision with 
woodworking and chemicals would include ensuring children are 
wearing appropriate eye protection such as child-size safety 
goggles.   

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2506 
First Aid Equipment 

 First aid equipment should always be available regardless of where activities are provided.  
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 When children leave the home-base, a first aid kit should be 
available. 

HH – For easy accessibility some programs place their first aid kit and 
children’s emergency information records in a backpack so that 
all items are located in one place.   

 Refer to Chapter 10 – Transportation for suggestions on stocking 
a first aid kit.   

 
 

CHILD CARE RULE .2506 
Supervision of School Age Children 

 All children must be adequately supervised.  Adequate supervision means that staff must be 
with the group of children and able to hear and see each child in his/her care, except: 
 Children who are developmentally able may be permitted to go to the restroom 

independently, provided that: 
  (A) Staff members’ proximity to children assures immediate intervention to safeguard 

a child from harm; and 
  (B) Individuals who are not staff members may not enter the restroom area while in 

use by any child; and  
(C) Children up to nine years of age are supervised by staff members who are able to 

hear the child.  Children nine years of age and older are not required to be directly 
supervised, however, staff members must know the whereabouts of children who 
have left their group to use the restroom. 

 Adequate supervision for children ages nine and older means that staff must be with the 
group of children and able to hear or see each child in his/her care.  A staff member 
must accompany any children that leave the group to go indoors or outdoors. 

 When emergencies necessitate that direct supervision is impossible for brief periods of 
time.   

 
 

 A child is never allowed, no matter what age or no matter what 
reason, to leave the group and go inside or outside unsupervised.  
The child must be observed by staff when leaving the group and 
observed by staff that is in the area where the child is going.   

 Center staff have the responsibly to adopt a plan for ensuring the 
supervision and safety of each child during transition.  The plan 
could be to utilize a two-way radio to contact the director or 
secretary who is inside the building when a child is on his or her 
way inside.  The outside staff person could watch the child until 
the inside person has taken the responsibility of supervising the 
child.  The reverse of this would occur when the child is 
returning to the group. 

 Being able to hear a child means that if a child was to cry out 
because they got hurt, scared, a stranger entered the bathroom, or 
if they needed help for some other reason, a staff person is 
positioned nearby so that they can hear and respond to the child. 
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 Staff should participate in activities with children.  Staff can 
supervise as they are moving about participating in activities.  
Participating in activities also builds relationships with children, 
which helps to manage children’s behavior.   

 Refer to Section 4 of this chapter for the child care requirements 
on adequate supervision for children participating in aquatic 
activities.   

 
 

SECTION 6: CHILDREN’S RECORDS AND ACTIVITIES 
Refer to Chapter 6 – Children’s Records and Activities for a full description of the requirements that 
will have to be met to operate a school-age care program.  The requirements in Section .2505, .2507 - 
.2509 only cover requirements that are different from those identified in Chapter 6.   
 
 

NC GENERAL STATUTE 110-91(9) & CHILD CARE RULE .0302, .0800 
Records for School-Age Children 

 All of the following must be on file for each child at the center or camp site: 
1) Application for enrollment  
2) Emergency medical care information  
3) Parents signed statement giving permission to seek emergency medical care 
4) Immunization records  
5) Permission for child to participate in off premise activities  
6) Permission for child to be transported 
7) Parents signed statement acknowledging review and receipt of the discipline 

policy 
8) Daily attendance records 
9) Permission for staff to administer medication  

 
 

 If the day camp maintains its master records for children and 
staff in a central location, emergency information for each staff 
person and child must always be on-site.   

 Programs are required to maintain accurate records on each child 
receiving care in the program.   

 Sample forms are located in Chapter 6 – Children’s Records and 
Activities.   
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CHILD CARE RULE .2505 
Health Requirements for School-Age Children 

 All requirements in of Section .0800 (except .0806) apply to school-age child care 
arrangements with the following exceptions: 

 A medical examination report is not required for any child enrolled in an accredited or 
approved public or private school. 

 If the day camp maintains its master records for children and staff in a location, which is 
different from the primary site where children are in care, emergency information for each 
staff person and child must always be on site.  The emergency information on site must 
include the name and telephone numbers of the child’s parents or other responsible 
person, the child’s or staff person’s physician or preferred hospital, any chronic illnesses 
and medication taken for that illness, any allergy and recommended treatment for that 
allergy, and any other information that has a direct bearing on medical treatment and safe 
care.  The parent’s signed permission to obtain medical attention must also be on site with 
the child.   

 
 

 Child care rule Section .0800 provides health standards for 
children.  School-age care programs must comply with 
requirements for an application for enrollment, emergency 
medical care, administering medication, and infectious and 
contagious diseases.  

 
CHILD CARE RULE .2507 

Rest and Sick Areas 

 Cots, beds, or mats with linens are not required for school-age children.  However, 
provisions must be made for children who wish to rest or who are sick to rest in a 
comfortable place.   

 

 Programs that only serve school-age children do not have to meet 
the rules from Section .0806 - Toileting, Clothing and Linens 
requirements. 

 The program is responsible for making provisions to 
accommodate children who wish to rest or who are sick to rest in 
a comfortable place.  You may request children to bring in 
sleeping bags.   

 The provisions should be outlined in the centers operating 
policies.   

 If you provide mats, cots, and linens then the linens must be 
cleaned after each use and the cot/mat must be stored 
appropriately.   

HH – Due to the types of activities children may participate in, it may 
be helpful to have extra sets of clothes available for children to 
change into if their clothes become wet or dirty.  Parents could 
provide extra clothes.   
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CHILD CARE RULE .2508 
Age Appropriate Activities  

 Child care centers which provide care to school-age children must provide activities 
appropriate to the age and interests of the children. 

 Facilities, other than religious sponsored centers, which routinely operate a program of care 
indoors for school-age children for more than 25 percent of each day in space designated and 
approved by the Division for that purpose, must make activities which are appropriate for the 
ages of children in care available on a daily basis.   

 Facilities which operate a school-age component for three or fewer hours per day must make 
at least three of the below activities available daily. 

 Facilities which operate a school-age component for more than three hours per day must make 
at least four of the below activities available daily. 

 When activities for children are routinely conducted outdoors or off the premises for at least 
75 percent of each day, equipment and materials must be provided to enable children to 
participate in at least three different activities each day. 

 All equipment and materials used by school-age children must be appropriate for the age 
and size of the children using the items. 

 
 

  The types of activities that must be made available are: 
 

active outdoor play arts and crafts block play 
books and language carpentry community awareness 
creative art cultural studies dramatic play 
environmental studies field trips food experiences 
games for individuals and small 
groups 

health and safety life-related chores 

money-making projects music, rhythm and 
creative movement 

number concepts 

problem solving sand and water play science and nature 
self help skills sewing  

 

 The center is required to have a written schedule and daily 
activity plan.  These rules establish a timeframe for daily 
routines, provide information about the kinds of activities 
offered, and set procedures for making information about the 
activities available to parents. 

HH - If children will be working on homework, consider having 
outdoor play prior to completing homework to allow children an 
opportunity to release some energy after a long school day. 

HH – Some programs have developed a homework policy to help 
explain to parents how the program will balance homework and 
other program activities.  A sample Homework Policy is 
available in the resource section.   
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 One source for activity-based curriculum is your local NC 
Cooperative Extension, 4-H Youth Development, county centers.  
Contact information for your local agent can be found at 
www.ces.ncsu.edu/index.php?page=countycenters.   

 
CHILD CARE RULE .2509 

Off-Premise Activities 
The requirements of this Rule apply when activities for children are routinely conducted outdoors 
or off the premise for at least 75 percent of each day. 

 The facility must develop a schedule of activities which is posted in a conspicuous place in 
the home base or given to the parents. 

 The schedule must be current and must contain the location, purpose, time and date, person 
in charge and telephone number or method for calling the person in charge.   

 Activities must be planned to accommodate a variety of individual interests and must 
provide opportunities for choice.   

 
 

SECTION: 7 LICENSES 
Refer to Chapter 7 – Licenses for a full description of the requirements that will have to be met to 
operate a school-age care program.  There are no differences for school-age care programs. 
 
 

SECTION 8: COMPLIANCE MONITORING 
All building code requirements in Chapter 8 – Compliance Monitoring apply for a center providing care 
to school-age children when any preschool-age child is also in care.  Refer to Chapter 8 for a full 
description of the requirements that will have to be met to operate a school-age care program.  The 
requirements in Section .2503 only cover requirements that are different from those identified in 
Chapter 8.   
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CHILD CARE RULE .2503 
Building Code Requirements 

 Any building which is currently approved for school occupancy and which houses a public or 
private school during the school year shall be considered an approved building to house a 
facility serving school-age children exclusively.  The operator is responsible for obtaining and 
submitting copies of all applicable inspection reports. 

 All summer day camps and school-age programs not located in a school, must meet the 
following North Carolina Building Codes: 
1. When the authorized capacity of the facility is less than 30 children, the structure must, at 

the minimum, meet the requirements for residential occupancy as prescribed in Volume 
IB of the North Carolina Building Code.  Children may use only those floors which have 
at least one grade level exit. 

2. When the authorized capacity of the facility is more than 29 children, but less than 100 
children, the structure must, at the minimum, meet the North Carolina Building Code 
requirements for business occupancy. 

3. When the authorized capacity of the facility is more than 99 children, the structure must, 
at the minimum, meet the North Carolina Building Code requirements for assembly 
occupancy, educational occupancy or institutional occupancy. 

 
 

 The building code requirements that apply to facilities serving 
only school-age children are based upon:  

 1. ages of children in care  
 2. number of children in care  
 3. type of building used  

 If the building currently houses a school, or is to be licensed as a 
summer day camp, then the operator may submit either a copy of 
the current inspection report or occupancy permit. If neither of 
these is available, or if the operator prefers, a new inspection 
report may be submitted. 

 
 

SECTION 9: NUTRITION REQUIREMENTS 
Refer to Chapter 9 – Nutrition for a full description of the requirements that will have to be met to 
operate a school-age care program.  The requirements in Section .2505 only cover requirements that 
are different from those identified in Chapter 9.   
 



Division of Child Development  Child Care Center Handbook 

School-Age Care  page 16.18 

CHILD CARE RULE .2505 
Nutrition 

 If food is prepared at a summer day camp, the regulations regarding sanitary facilities, food 
preparation and service for summer camps as adopted by the Health Services Commission and 
codified in 15A NCAC 18A .1000 must apply. 

 If food is brought from home by children or catered, the following requirements apply: 
1. Sanitary cold storage shall be provided for perishable snacks or lunches brought from 

home. 
2. Safe drinking water shall be available at all times regardless of where activities are 

provided. 
3. Meals brought by children that do not meet the Meal Patterns are supplemented by the 

center so that they do. 
 

 

 All requirements specified in Section .0900 (Nutrition Standards) 
apply when any preschool child is in care or when food is 
provided by the facility.   

 Whether or not the program chooses to be licensed as a summer 
day camp, there are sanitation requirements adopted by the 
Commission for Health Services that all summer day camps must   
meet. 

 Food items may not be placed directly on ice in a cooler. A 
separator, such as a tray, must be used to prevent the 
melting ice from coming into contact with the food. 

 Water may be transported in a cooler or in individual 
canteens. 

 If there are questions regarding what foods are considered 
perishable, contact the local health department for information on 
how food should be stored and transported. The local cooperative 
extension agent is also an excellent source of information about 
food handling.   

 
 

SECTION 10: TRANSPORTATION SAFETY 
Refer to Chapter 10 – Transportation Safety for a full description of the requirements that will have to 
be met to operate a school-age care program.  The requirements in Section .2507 only cover 
requirements that are different from those identified in Chapter 10.   
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CHILD CARE RULE .2507 
Operating Policies:  Field Trips & Off Premise Activities 

 Written permission from parents must be obtained before transporting children on field trips 
or leaving the premise.   

 Blanket permissions from parents for field trips or leaving the premises are acceptable only 
when a schedule of activities to be conducted off the premises is posted in a conspicuous place 
for review by parents and staff in advance on a weekly basis.   

 The schedule must include the location, purpose, time and date, person in charge, and 
telephone number or method for contacting the person in charge.  

 
 

 Chapter 10 - Transportation Safety defines the transportation 
requirements to follow when transporting children. Vehicle 
safety, seat restraints, and other important procedures that should 
be followed to keep the children safe while on a trip are all 
discussed in detail. 

 
 

SECTION 11: OTHER REQUIREMENTS 
All requirements in Chapter 11 - Behavior Management through Chapter 14- Rulemaking 
Procedures apply to school-age care programs.  You should refer to the other chapters for a full 
description of the requirements that will have to be met to operate a school-age care program. 
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Chapter 16:   
SCHOOL-AGE CARE 

The following pages contain resource materials discussed in or 
related to the preceding chapter. 

 
 
 
Some of the resources are forms created by the Division of Child Development and 
must be used by licensed child care centers.  Other materials are provided as a 
resource only for child care centers and can be used at the discretion of the center. 
 
 
Center operators may also wish to use this section to add any additional resource 
materials they have that are related to the chapter or information that is specific to 
their child care center. 


