
Summary of the North Carolina Child Care Law for Family Child Care Homes 
 

What Is Child Care?  
The law defines child care as: 

 three or more unrelated children under 13 years of age 

 receiving care from a non-relative 

 on a regular basis, of at least once a week 

 for more than four hours per day but less than 24 hours. 

It is only when all of these conditions exist that regulation is required. The North 
Carolina Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for regulating 
child care. This is done through the Division of Child Development. The purpose 
of regulation is to protect the well-being of children while they are away from 
their parents.  
 
The law defining child care is in the North Carolina General Statutes, Article 7, 
Chapter 110.  The North Carolina Child Care Commission is responsible for 
adopting rules to carry out the law. Some counties and cities in North Carolina 
also have local zoning requirements for child care programs. 
 
Star Rated Licenses 
Homes that meet the minimum licensing requirements will receive a one star 
license.  Programs that choose to voluntarily meet higher standards can apply 
for a two through five star rated license.  The number of stars a program earns is 
based upon the education level of the operator and the program standards met 
by the program. 
 
Family Child Care Homes 
A family child care home is licensed for five or fewer preschool aged children 
and an additional three school age children.  This includes preschoolers living in 
the home but the provider’s own school age children are not counted.  
Individuals caring for one or two children are exempt from being licensed.   
Family child care homes will be visited at least annually to monitor all applicable 
child care requirements and to receive technical assistance from child care 
consultants. 
 
Child Abuse, Neglect, or Maltreatment 
Every citizen has a responsibility to report suspected child abuse, neglect or 
maltreatment.  This occurs when a parent or caregiver injures or allows another 
to injure a child physically or emotionally.  It may occur when a parent or 
caregiver puts a child at risk of serious injury or allows another to put a child at 
risk of serious injury.  It also occurs when a child does not receive proper care, 
supervision, discipline, or when a child is abandoned. North Carolina law 
requires any person who suspects child maltreatment at a child care 
facility to report the situation to the Intake Unit at Division of Child 
Development and Early Education at 919-527-6335 or 1-800-859-0829.  
Reports can be made anonymously.  A person cannot be held liable for a report 
made in good faith.  The operator of the program must notify parents of children 
currently enrolled in writing of the substantiation of any maltreatment complaint 
or the issuance of any administrative action against the child care facility.  North 
Carolina law requires any person who suspects child abuse or neglect in a 
family to report the case to the county department of social services.   

 
 

 
 
 

Parental Rights 
Parents have the right to enter a home at any time while their child is 
present. 
Parents have the right to see the license displayed in a prominent place. 
Parents have the right to know how their child will be disciplined. 
 
How to Report a Problem  
North Carolina law requires staff from the Division of Child Development and 
Early Education to investigate a child care facility when there has been a 
complaint.  Child care providers who violate the law or rules may be issued 
an administrative action, fined and may have their licenses suspended or 
revoked.  If you believe that a child care provider fails to meet the 
requirements here, or if you have questions, please call the Division of Child 
Development and Early Education at 919-527-6335 or 1-800-859-0829. 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Licensed homes must, at a minimum, meet requirements in the 
following areas. 
 
Education and Experience 
Home providers who received a license on or after January 1, 1998 must be 
21 years old with at least a high school education or its equivalent, and 
mentally and emotionally capable of caring for children.   
 
Criminal Background Checks 
On January 1, 2013 House Bill (HB) 737 became effective. This legislation 
made criminal record checks a pre-service requirement.  All providers 
must undergo a criminal background check initially, and every three years 
thereafter.  All household members 16 years and older must undergo a 
criminal background check.  
 
Health and Safety 
All family child care homes must meet basic health and safety standards.  
All family child care home providers must have current certification in CPR 
and First Aid and complete the Emergency Preparedness and Response in 
Child Care training and plan.  Family child care home providers licensed to 
care for infants 12 months and younger, must complete ITS-SIDS training 
within four months of receiving a license and complete it again every three 
years.  They must also complete a minimum number of in-service training 
hours annually.  Providers must maintain verification of children’s 
immunization and health status. They must provide age-appropriate toys 
and activities. They must serve nutritious meals and snacks.   

Transportation 
Family child care homes providing transportation for children must meet all motor 
vehicle laws, including inspection, insurance, license, and restraint requirements. 
Children may never be left alone in a vehicle and parents must give signed 
permission before a child is transported. 
 
Program Records 
Homes must keep accurate records such as children's attendance, immunizations, 
and emergency phone numbers. A record of monthly fire drills and quarterly 
shelter-in-place or lockdown drills practiced must also be maintained.  A safe sleep 
policy must be developed and shared with parents if children younger than 12 
months are in care.  Providers must develop and adopt a written plan of care for 
completing routine tasks, such as running errands, meeting family and personal 
demands, and attending classes, to ensure these tasks do not interfere with the 
care of children during hours of operation.  The plan must be given and explained 
to parents of children in care and be reflected on the written schedule.   

 
Discipline and Behavior Management 
Each facility must have a written policy on discipline, must discuss it with parents, 
and must give parents a copy when the child is enrolled. Changes in discipline 
policy must be shared with parents in writing before going into effect. Corporal 
punishment (spanking, slapping, or other physical discipline) is prohibited in all 
Family Child Care Homes. Religious-sponsored programs which notify the Division 
of Child Development and Early Education that corporal punishment is part of their 
religious training are exempt from that part of the law.  
 
The law and rules are developed to establish minimum requirements. Most parents 
would like more than minimum care. Child care resource and referral agencies can 
provide help in choosing quality care.  For more information about quality child 
care, parents can visit the Resources in Child Care website at 
www.ncchildcare.nc.gov.  For more information on the law and rules, contact the 
Division of Child Development and Early Education at 919-527-6335 or 1-800-859-
0829; or visit our homepage at www.ncchildcare.nc.gov.   
 

This summary shall be posted for the public to view in accordance with GS 
110-102 
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Reviewing Files 
A public file is maintained in the Division’s main office in Raleigh for 
every licensed facility.  These files can be viewed during business 
hours (8am-5pm), requested via the Division’s web site at 
www.ncchildcare.nc.gov, or viewed from the Division’s Child Care 
Facility Search Site 
http://ncchildcaresearch.dhhs.state.nc.us/search.asp?lang=English. 

or by contacting the Division at 1-800-859-0829. 
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